Anna’s Notebook, 1925- Measurements

A wonderful blog reader was so generous as to sent me a treasure! This is a binder from a fashion student from 1925 named Anna Stratmann.  I hope to post sections of this notebook, so this is the first installation in a series called “Anna’s Notebook”

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in 1920s, anna's notebook, sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Anna’s Notebook, 1925- Measurements

  1. Beth says:

    How neat! I’m kind of fascinated by the little sketches – they’re so perfectly 20’s, with cropped hair and a straight figure. Also surprised by the hole reinforcements – I would not have guessed they had those back then!

  2. Jen says:

    This is fascinating! I especially love seeing how absolutely normal/everyday her personal measurements are! 🙂

  3. wacky tacky says:

    This is a treasure! I think the measurement chart is so interesting. It seems that all the tiny clothes that survived are taken as the average size of the day. The sizes in her book seem very normal by today’s standards. Thanks for sharing!!

  4. Debi says:

    How lovely!!! Can’t wait to see more sketches!!

  5. AnniePancake says:

    she is virtually my size…… or at least, my size a couple of months ago :S!
    xxx

  6. superheidi says:

    How thrilling! And wacky tacky’s comment is really making sense. How distorted is our view on people from the past? That’s I like your posts with photographs of “ordinairy” people.

  7. lauren says:

    this is one of the coolest things ever, i love this kind of stuff. i keep a list of my measurements and my friends (to make it easier for them to buy things from me); i wonder if someone will unearth is someday!

  8. Lauren says:

    What a great blog-friend to send you such a cool piece of the past! Such fun!

Leave a Comment

