>New Pattern! Moderne- 1930s Art Deco Dress

>I can finally share what I’ve been secretly working on!
I’m happy to announce I have a new reproduction pattern for sale on the website!

This pattern features two really lovely mid 1930s dresses with art deco influence.  Version I has a high neck and assymetrically fastening bodice, and Version II has a lovely drape.

I made my sample of Version II from a green linen/rayon blend fabric I dyed myself.  Following the vintage instructions, I made bound buttonholes and have a fun cuff link style button fastening at the neck.  I used vintage buttons from my stash as accents.  I absolutely LOVE this dress.  I think it might be a new favorite! The triple pleats make it so much fun to wear and move in.  I can just imagine how chic this could look in a variety of fabrics- from wools to linens to cottons to silks.  Yummy!  It would also look very chic and dressy under a stylish 30s overcoat.

This pattern is available in multsize on my website, from a size 30 bust through a size 40 bust.  The retail price is going to be $25, but I have a special introductory rate of $22 for a limited time.  This pattern starts shipping next week.

I’ll be posting a bound buttonhole tutorial on the blog soon, in honor of the new pattern.  🙂

Hope you love it! I’m so happy to finally have a dress added to the pattern offerings!

This entry was posted in 1930s, pattern line, repro patterns, website. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to >New Pattern! Moderne- 1930s Art Deco Dress

  1. iLiveinmyLab says:

    >Oh goodness that is absolutely lovely! Fantastic pattern!

  2. Amy Jeanne says:

    >Gurrrrrrrrl!You are trying to take all my money aren't you? 😉

  3. >Lauren, it's unbelievable! So gorgeous! I adore the asymmetry of the top and bottom. Truly, what a magnificent addition! I'm completely blown away! Love the entire thing. xoxo,Sunni

  4. garofit says:

    >Wow this is so cool! And what a fantastic color!

  5. >Great color choice! The draping at the neck is fabulous!

  6. >GORGEOUS! Love the button details!!

  7. Lauren says:

    >Thanks! I'm so glad you all like it!It was a rather fun pattern to sew 🙂

  8. Curvy Kitty says:

    >Wow! That is absolutely gorgeous! Love love love the colour. but I do hope you'll turn to some more 40s pattern next 😉

  9. Kat says:

    >Definitely a must have! I can't wait to make this one! Absolutely fabulous.

  10. Kate says:

    >I *actually* squealed like a child when I saw your post. Yes. That would be me, ordering patterns at 2:30 am. *does a little dance*

  11. LandGirl1980 says:

    >Absolutely WONDERFUL!

  12. Debi says:

    >Absolutely LOVE this! I also adore the color you dyed the fabric in!! I can't decide which view I like more!! YAY!

  13. Erin says:

    >This is fantastic. At some point, I will be buying this.

  14. Nabby says:

    >So beautiful! It's a good thing my birthday is coming up; I already had one of your patterns on my wish list, and now this one will definitely be on there too!!

  15. Miss Rayne says:

    >Stunning dress and that colour is fantastic on you.

  16. Lady Cherry says:

    >Wow, it looks like a fab dress, I like both versions equally.

  17. FoofandFaff says:

    >Very pretty, love the colour 🙂

  18. casey says:

    >WOWZA!!! Firstly: this new pattern is gorgeous! I'm just loving the neckline and asymmetrical button detail on the skirt. The thirties did details so well.Secondly, I adore the fabric color–so amazing! What brand dye did you use, if I might ask?♥ Casey

  19. Lauren says:

    >Thanks so much, all! So glad you like the dress 🙂 It was fun to make!Curvy Kitty, I have something 40s in the works, but it might be a while till I can get it out. But it's coming!Casey, It was a very light peach rayon/linen blend fabric and I overdyed it with RIT Kelly Green in the bottle (not powdered). I did a mad hunt for a fabric that would be a good weight but still have some drape and hold a pleat!

  20. Tasha says:

    >Absolutely gorgeous! The green one is delightful, and the pattern looks great. I love the pleated detail!

  21. PunkRizz says:

    >I just received my pattern and I love it! (thank you very much for shipping it priority!) I'm going to follow your advice and make a dress from muslin first. (since I'm a beginning seamstress and new to vintage patterns) My question is, what do you do with the muslin prototype afterward? It seems a waste to throw out the muslin after adjusting the fitting, but my rag bin is overflowing with past sewing projects that I've taken apart. Any suggestions?

  22. Lauren says:

    >Thanks All!Punk Rizz, so glad you got it quickly :)I save my scraps and use the larger ones for draping or cutting smaller pattern pieces for future mock ups, or I use them for quilting later. Hope that helps!

  23. Lauren says:

    >Oh, forgot to say, you don't have to use muslin- a lot of times folks make mock ups from other fabrics in their stash. I just got used to calling it "make a muslin" because that's what we said in school.

  24. PunkRizz says:

    >Lauren, thanks for your replies. Your quilting suggestion is genius!

Leave a Comment

