>Shop Updates!

>Just a quick note to let you know that both shops have been updated!
I’ve got a huge shopping bag FULL of modern commercial patterns to destash.  Most all of them either have retro styling, are vintage reprints, or are historical costumes and are out of print. If you ever wanted any of the Fashion Historian Civil War Simplicity patterns but never got around to getting them them I just listed most of mine to the shop (but I kept some duplicates for myself, too… yeah, I liked the way they looked so much I bought doubles on some).  So there’s lots of new patterns listed in the shop and more on the way!

Simplicity 9761 and Simplicity 4400, Others listed here.

The General Emporium has a few new things listed over the last few days as well.  Today we’ve got vintage hair nets and air mail envelopes!  Yesterday I listed other neat odds and ends in the store, including a book with lots of silent screen stars pictured from 1916.

I’m down and out again *ah-choo* but puttering away on a new pattern for the pattern line! Hopefully we’ll have something new out in the next week or two.  It’s a casual fall and winter coat from the 1930s (hint: I posted a pic not too long ago on the blog).
Hope you all are having a great week!

This entry was posted in etsy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >Shop Updates!

  1. >Beautiful, but I just can't believe those patterns would look that good in real life. SImplicities never do 😦 At least not for me!

  2. >The problem with the Simplicity patterns is that the designer was only allowed a certain amount of space for the directional pages. And therefore, had to leave out some pertinent information, which I believe was NOT her choice.Little details, like self-fabric piping, which are important if you are a living historian and not just out for a Halloween costume.They are beautiful 'costumes', and I have seen about a trillion of the three tiered skirted gown, and unfortunately, only one looked as good, if not better than the pattern photo.The only problem I see with that particular pattern, other than it's difficulty, is that too many reenactors are using it, and not correctly.Was at a Dickens Fest and about 75% of the women were wearing that pattern, including Queen Victoria. And they were all done up in upholstery fabric. With 'bridal' hoops underneath, which of course alters the silhouette of the gown from the image on the pattern. These women's hoops were as wide as they were tall, rendering the skirts too short and the overall look was horrifically squatty.I think the second look shown here is a much more realistic and safer pattern to use, not so "Simplicity" obvious, and 'less is more'.I've got every one of these and can't bear to part with them, and have used none of them!

  3. Lauren says:

    >Lovely!I hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚

  4. >Dreamstress and Robin's Egg Bleu- I think you're both right that most don't look as good out of the package as they do on the cover. I always have to fiddle with any commercial patterns a lot. I've seen a couple of these made up and they actually look really nice. I made up one myself a loooong time ago, and one of my best friends also made one up. We made them up as basic western style dresses in printed cottons but were EXTRA particular as to print. If I remember correctly they took quite a bit of fitting, but then looked great afterwards :)So right about fabric choice. I was just thinking the same thing yesterday and really need to do a post on it. Fabric choice can make or break an outfit! The fabrics they chose for the covers are lovely, but it's not the average person that's going to splurge on silk taffeta (or whatever it is) for a costume. I have… but I like it πŸ˜‰ But even with simple cottons it's all about knowing print, or even just using solids with a good hand and tastefully trimmed. There's way too many floral upholstery dresses or obvious quilters cotton dresses out there!Lauren, thanks a bunch πŸ™‚ Hopefully soon…

  5. >Oh yeah… the second one is one I kept a copy of. I love it. I swear I'll make it someday :)Just like all the other projects…

Leave a Comment

