>A handwritten note, Sept 22

>

One of my most charming finds is an old tin box filled with old postcards and humourous or heartwarming handwritten notes from the early 1900s.  Although a few days late from September 22nd, this is one of the little notes.
I wonder at the story- but my romantic imagination wants to guess it was written from a gentleman to a lady as he was courting her the year before their marriage as many of the notes are of a playfully romantic or teasing nature.  Maybe he slipped it in her hand while passing- maybe she found them on her windowsill each morning when she awoke.  Sometimes the daydreams of could-have-been possibilities are more fun than actually knowing the truth.  If I knew the mystery would be solved… and there’s so many romantic possibilities and “what if’s”.
Hope you had a wonderful week!

This entry was posted in 1910s, notes, postcards. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >A handwritten note, Sept 22

  1. >even the handwriting is totally romantic! thanks for sharing šŸ™‚

  2. Bobbie says:

    >That is a treasure! A handwritten note from so long ago…. I would spend my time day dreaming up stories for it too

  3. Nancy says:

    >I love this, I am the same way with "what if's" and potential for things. My romantic mind loves a good wander!Nancyhttp://thehemmablog.blogspot.com

  4. >>>Maybe he slipped it in her hand while passing- maybe she found them on her windowsill each morning when she awoke.Maybe "SHE" slipped it into his hand…the signature is Sarah M. Peterson. šŸ˜‰

  5. >I have a postcard from my grandmother's youth – probably the 40s or early 50s – written to her mother from Girl Scout Camp.I'm the most excited about it because it still has Gram's address on it in Grandma's handwriting, and I'll hopefully be moving in to Gram's house by the end of the year!

  6. >There's all different quotes attributed to different authors, but you're right! I never thought it could well have been an adventurous lady who wrote the notes!The romance gets even more interesting šŸ™‚

  7. >I have a postcard from my grandmother's youth – probably the 40s or early 50s – written to her mother from Girl Scout Camp.I'm the most excited about it because it still has Gram's address on it in Grandma's handwriting, and I'll hopefully be moving in to Gram's house by the end of the year!

  8. >>>Maybe he slipped it in her hand while passing- maybe she found them on her windowsill each morning when she awoke.Maybe "SHE" slipped it into his hand…the signature is Sarah M. Peterson. šŸ˜‰

  9. Bobbie says:

    >That is a treasure! A handwritten note from so long ago…. I would spend my time day dreaming up stories for it too

Leave a Comment

