>Love the clothes, but give me the shoes!

>Now, I admit I’m not the most avid shoe hound.  I’ve never been the one to go straight to the shoes at the department store and long after something in every color.  BUT- I admit- I am strongly drawn to vintage shoes.  I love them.  When I look through old catalogs I literally drool at the beautiful shoes that were available.  If I could order things from the past it would most likely be hats and shoes.  Clothing we can make, but shoe and hat making?  Now those are REAL lost arts.  And aren’t they just works of art in themselves?  *le sigh*  This particular shoe offering is from Spring and Summer of 1939.

click on the image for a hi res copy
This entry was posted in 1930s, 1939, catalog scans, shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to >Love the clothes, but give me the shoes!

  1. Shrinky Inky says:

    >i actually became weak in the knees. and you know how i love shoes.

  2. >I'm both glad and heartbroken that I checked in today! I do rarely browse the shoe section at Nordstrom on my way to the makeup counter, but nothing ever inspires me. These shoes are enough to make a vintagette tear up a little – so few are left to us – and certainly none are my size!I'd petition Prada to remake these styles exactly — but I couldn't afford them if they did. Can't decide which I'd have to have more, either, the red and black with blue, or the four color ones!

  3. PoetessWug says:

    >I AM a shoe hound!!!…I love these too!!!

  4. mama grubbs says:

    >omg they are so cute! and cheap then!

  5. tiddleywink says:

    >Even adjusting for inflation, those shoes range from $15.53 to $35.92. I'll take *two* of each lovely pair!

  6. Zinnia Cress says:

    >those shoes… those prices… if only i can travel back in time… jsut for a little while…:)-Zinnia

  7. Emily says:

    >I am totally with you on going back in time for shoes and hats! I am a total shoe nut and these are simply divine!

  8. >*dies* omg I want those all so bad it hurts!

  9. Betty Lou says:

    >i want them all!

  10. Charlotte says:

    >Oh my! Now those are some faulous shoes! xx CharlotteTuppence Ha'penny

  11. Marie M says:

    >so nice shoes !!! i love its !

  12. Andrea says:

    >Those shoes are all so utterly gorgeous! I really wish I could learn to make shoes, it's been a goal of mine for such a long time.

  13. Diva says:

    >Have just found your blog. What an inspiration 🙂

  14. >Absolutely agreed! Those shoes are like candy, beautiful image!XOXO~Syd

  15. Tia says:

    >Ah, wonderful! I wish shoes like those were still available–and at those prices! 😉 I love the red ones on the top row.

Leave a Comment

